Our core teaching faculty, program staff, and department leaders, met recently at the Faculty Club in Harvard Square to discuss the program.


The MGH and McLean facilities host by far the largest faculty and the most generously funded psychiatry research program of any Harvard Medical School Hospitals. Over 250 full-time and over 400 part-time faculty members contribute to our mission: caring for a vast population of psychiatric inpatients and outpatients, teaching an extraordinary group of young psychiatrists, and investing 100 million dollars annually on a myriad of research projects, among the largest in the country.
Over one hundred junior and senior faculty from these extensive departments serve as primary teaching faculty in the MGH / McLean training program. Through their roles as unit attendings, seminar leaders, individual supervisors in the outpatient clinics, and longitudinal training mentors, the following outstanding faculty provide the backbone of training in both the theory and practice of psychiatry.

Unit Rotation Leaders

Acute Psychiatry Service (MGH)

Suzanne Bird, MD, Director
Abbie Donovan, MD
Curtis Wittmann, MD

Addiction Psychiatry

Shelly Greenfield, MD, MPH (McLean)
Hillary Connery, MD, PhD (McLean)
Emine Nalan Ward, MD (MGH)

Behavioral Health Partial Program (McLean)

Thröstur Björgvinsson, PhD, Director

Blake 11 Inpatient Psychiatry Service (MGH)

Jeff Huffman, MD, Director

Clinical Evaluation Center (CEC) (McLean)

Beth Murphy, MD, PhD, Director

Consultation-Liaison (C-L) Psychiatry (MGH)

Ted Stern, MD, Director

Electroconvulsive Therapy (ECT)/ Neurotherapeutics (McLean)

Stephen Seiner, MD, Director

Geriatric Psychiatry (McLean)

Brent Forester, MD Director

Neuropsychiatry and Behavioral Neurology (NBN) (McLean)

Bruce Price, MD, Director

Obsessive Compulsive Disorder Institute

Darin Dougherty, MD, Director

Outpatient Psychiatry – Adult Outpatient Clinics (MGH and McLean)

Jonathan Alpert, MD, PhD, Director (MGH)
Gopinath Mallya, MD, Director (McLean)
Franca Centorrino, MD (McLean)
John Gunderson, MD (McLean)
Martha Kane, MD (MGH)
Guy Maytal, MD (MGH)
Maurizio Fava, MD (MGH)

Schizophrena and Bipolar Program (McLean)

Dost Öngür, MD, PhD, Director
Joseph Stoklosa, MD

Didactics Seminar Leaders

Academic Project

Scott Beach, MD

Borderline Personality Workshop

Lois Choi-Kain, MD

Case Formulation

Chris Gordon, MD

Child Psychiatry

Laura Prager, MD

Clinical Neurology

Felicia Smith, MD

Clinical Neuroscience

Nick Kontos, MD
Elizabeth Liebson, MD

Cognitive Behavioral Therapy

Thröstur Björgvinsson, PhD
John Matthews, MD

Couples Therapy

Anne Fishel, PhD

Dialectic Behavioral Therapy (DBT)

Joan Wheelis, MD

Family Therapy

Anne Fishel, PhD

Group Psychotherapy

Kathy Ulman, PhD
Laura Crain, MD

HIV Psychiatry

Oliver Freudenreich, MD

How to Teach and Supervise

Scott Beach, MD
Joe Stoklosa, MD

Human Development

Eugene Beresin, MD
Laura Prager, MD

Journal Club

Jordan Smoller, MD, ScD

Psychotherapy I & II

Robert Waldinger, MD

Psychotherapy III

Richard Schwartz, MD
Steve Gans, MD

Psychotherapy IV

Amy Gagliardi, MD
Jonathan Kolb, MD
Deborah Greenman, MD
Jane Thorbeck, EdD
Peggy Warren, MD

Research Methods and Literacy

Christina Borba, PhD, MPh

Sociocultural Psychiatry

Nhi-Ha Trinh, MD
Justin Chen, MD, MPH

Transition to Practice

John Taylor, MD, MBA

Trauma Psychiatry

James Chu, MD
Millisa Kaufman, MD, PhD